The number of communities represented in benefit agreements with Trans Mountain Expansion Project grew significantly this week thanks to more than $2.5 million worth of new agreements in the British Columbia interior.

The community of Valemount, Clearwater, City of Kamloops, four Electoral Areas in the Thompson Nicola Regional District (TNRD) and Merritt have each entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), joining six others that will receive investment from Trans Mountain as a result of the Expansion Project.

As part of the Community Benefits Program, each MOU calls for Trans Mountain to make a local investment in recognition of the effects of pipeline construction or operation along the proposed route. To offset the impacts of the expansion and to provide a positive legacy, the program will fund or partially fund three priority areas of investment: community programs and infrastructure improvements, environmental stewardship, as well as education and training opportunities. The local investments are in addition to $52 million in annual property tax payments paid to pipeline corridor communities with the expanded pipeline system in operation.

Agreements now encompass the majority of pipeline construction communities along the corridor from Strathcona County, Alberta to Hope, BC with a total value of $4.6 million, representing close to 1,000 kilometres of the pipeline. Agreements were previously announced with Barriere and Hope in BC, as well as Strathcona County, Stony Plain, Edson and Hinton in Alberta.

“We value our relationships with the communities we have operated in for more than 60 years, and recognize the communities along the proposed corridor affected by expansion construction should see direct benefits," Kinder Morgan Canada president Ian Anderson said. “Our progress is significant. We’re ensuring the communities along our pipeline corridor receive investments to support important local projects. That’s in addition to landowner compensation, and the economic activity and regional employment our Project will generate during construction and subsequent operation.”

All agreements take effect with approval of the Expansion Project, which is in the midst of a National Energy Board review scheduled to conclude in October 2015, with possible approval in spring 2016. Other agreements are anticipated in the coming months as Project planning continues.


  • Valemount — $185,000 for municipal infrastructure, recreation and education.
  • Clearwater — $390,000 for community benefits, municipal infrastructure, recreation and education.
  • Thompson Nicola Regional District — Total investment of $845,000 in four Electoral Areas:
    • $175,000 to Vavenby, Birch Island and Black Pool for community parks
    • $350,000 to Blue River and Avola for parks, trails and education
    • $170,000 to Little Fort for road upgrades and landscaping
    • $150,000 to Black Pines for drinking water infrastructure
  • Kamloops — $700,000 for community projects.
  • Merritt — $420,000 for community infrastructure.


  • Strathcona County — A $225,000 contribution toward upgrades of a regional park.
  • Stony Plain — A $225,000 contribution toward construction of new trails.
  • Edson — A $300,000 agreement toward upgrading trails and a park development.
  • Hinton — A $250,000 contribution supporting expansion of recreation infrastructure, trails and education programs.
  • Barriere — A $290,000 contribution toward upgrading bike and pedestrian trails.
  • Hope — A $500,000 contribution toward upgrades at a community park.